From Iowa cornfields to the Arizona desert, Jenny Peters’ journey spans many miles that now places her at Trilix as a project manager. Since graduating from Iowa State University, Jenny has compiled a list of experiences in her career that puts client satisfaction at the forefront. Assisting with projects to make sure they reach their destination is a breeze for Jenny with her strong relationship-building and organizational skills. 

We caught up with Jenny to learn more about what makes her thrive at work and what she loves doing away from the office — you can also find out about her party trick!

Can you tell me a bit about your professional background and education?

I received a marketing degree from Iowa State University. After graduating from college, I moved out to Scottsdale, Arizona, where I worked for a niche marketing agency specializing in the commercial real estate industry. Being that there were only five of us at the agency, I did everything from business development, web, creative and strategy.

After five years there, I decided to move back to Iowa to settle down and became an account rep at a Des Moines print and custom packaging manufacturer. I had a territory of approximately 15 states where I grew business, provided client support and expertise, and once a project came in — followed it along the production process to ensure client satisfaction.

I worked there for more than seven years and then recently was with another local marketing agency as an account supervisor where I managed the day-to-day communications on projects and deliverables. I was there for about a year and a half before joining Trilix as a project manager.

What are your strengths professionally?

I love building relationships with clients and colleagues. I pride myself on being able to jibe with every personality and build that rapport with people. I’m also very organized so I like to always know the status of a job and make sure everything is staying on track by keeping the client updated along the way.

What is your favorite aspect of the job?

The relationship building and communication. I love being the go-to person that people know will get the job done quickly and effectively. Knowing that people can count on me — from both an internal and external side.

Tell us about your life outside of work! Any family? How long have you lived in Iowa or your home state?

I was born and raised in Davenport, Iowa. I always thought that after going to Iowa State, I would probably end up in Des Moines one day. I have lived here now for approximately eight years. I have a husband, Ryan; 5-year-old son, Ryker; 2-year-old daughter, Grayson; and a French bulldog, Frank.

What do you like to do in your free time? Any hobbies or unique talents?

I enjoy spending time with my family and watching the Iowa Hawkeyes (yes, I graduated from Iowa State, but I was born and raised a Hawkeye fan). We have the best neighborhood and enjoy driveway beers with our neighbors, checking out new local restaurants and bars. I’m also really big into interior design and decorating — whether it’s a room in my house or helping friends with decorating.

What is your useless talent? 

My right arm is grossly double-jointed — it’s my party trick.

Favorite film, food, drink and furry friend? 

Fav film: It’s always been “Con Air” — but the new “Top Gun: Maverick” might have trumped it.

Food: Big soft pretzels.

Drink: Spicy margarita.

Furry friend: My BFF — Frank.

What would be your superpower and why? 

Without a doubt: sleeping. I can fall asleep anytime, anywhere — standing, sitting, etc.

Describe your perfect day. 

A cool fall morning, coffee in hand. A slow start to the morning watching cartoons with the kiddos and then we finally get ready for the day and go to Drake Diner for breakfast. After breakfast, we go for a walk around the neighborhood and stop at the park so the kids can burn off energy, then we turn on some football in the garage mid-morning with a good Bloody Mary in hand, neighbors stop by to chat, and it ends up being an all-afternoon activity with the kids playing together in the street and the grown-ups catching up. Night rolls around and we whip up some good burgers for dinner and get the kids to bed early enough where my husband and I can relax by the firepit and play Sequence with a good beer! In bed by 10!

If you could do any other kind of work, what would it be? 

Interior designer. I would love to design and decorate either homes or hotels!

What motivates you at work? 

I love working. I genuinely enjoy getting up every day and going into the office to interact and get my stuff done! I find if you enjoy your work, that’s motivation enough.